Day 3 – 第3回

Today was the big day – our student presentation!! I felt exceptionally nervous about giving a speech in front of so many experts and observers, but I was so glad that we could present our thoughts on the future of disarmament on such a distinguished stage.

As you know, it is very difficult to promote and implement the goals of disarmament. However, today’s presentation by students from many different states represents the type of cross-border cooperation that politicians will need to embrace in order to achieve the goals of disarmament. I have hope for this and believe that decision-makers can take a lesson from the student presentation today.

My favorite phrase in the presentation was: “If I have friends all over the world, when the friend’s country begins a war, I would think how to avoid a war. Having contact with people around the world will change the conscious of each and every person and change the world.” In fact, through making foreign friends, I’ve developed an interest in the countries from which they are from. I also get worried about negative events that occur in countries I’ve visited.

It may be too simplistic, but I believe that mutual understanding brings us closer to peace. I hope that our feelings reached many people! Thank you.

Your student blogger,

Shoko

今日は私たちの発表がありました!

講評の方々と、多くの市民の方々を目の前にして、とても緊張しましたが、今まで私たちが学んできたことの成果として、私たち学生の等身大の考えを、あのような大きな舞台で発表できたことを本当に嬉しく思っています。

軍縮を進めることは、本当に本当に難しいことです。でも、私たちが一つの目標に向かって、国籍を越えて留学生と日本人学生が協力し、今回の発表を成し遂げたのですから、政治家も、国籍を越えて、足並みをそろえて、軍縮を進められる日が来ると思います。私はそういう希望を持ちたいです。

私は、発表の中で一番、「世界中に友達がいて、その国が戦争になったら、その戦争は他人事ではなくなり、どうしたら戦争を避けられるのか本気で考えるようになる。世界中の人と交流することが、個人を変え、国家を変えていく力になるのではないか。」という部分が好きです。事実、私は留学生の友達ができてから、その国のことに興味を持つようになりましたし、自分が訪問したことのある国で起きたニュースはとても気になります。

短絡的かもしれませんが、相互理解を進めていくことで、世界から武器がなくなる日が近づくのではないか、と信じています。私たちの発表を通して、平和をつくるのは、私たち一人一人なんだと感じてくれた人がいたらいいなと思います。ありがとうございました。

聖子

Leave a Reply

